Digits: The Big Dance Decade

Updated: Mar 19, 2018

The indoor season may have concluded, but the performances that we saw will live on forever. Virginia Tech won their first ever distance title, Andy Trouard pulled off a massive upset, and Saruni dominated the field with a phenomenal performance in the finals.

These mind-blowing performances persuaded us to look into the history of the National Championships and see what trends we could find. We reviewed the past years of indoor National Championships and tried to identify some interesting trends. See our findings below...


- In the past 10 years, only three nationalities have won an NCAA title in this event...

> Kenyan: 5

> American: 4

> Canadian: 1

- Saruni now has the fastest 800 meter time in an indoor NCAA Championship ever.

- When looking over the past 10 years of results, Saruni now joins Tevan Everett (2009), Robby Andrews (2010), and Brandon McBride (2014) as NCAA Champions who did not win their prelim.


- Josh Kerr is the 2nd NCAA Champion to win back-to-back Mile titles in the past 10 years. The last champion to do that? New Mexico's Lee Emmanuel in 2009 and 2010.

- Virginia Tech now joins the legendary 2015 Oregon squad as the only two teams to have three Mile All-Americans in the past 10 years.

- Colorado State and Southern Utah secured their first All-American miler in (at least) the past 10 years.

- This is the 5th straight year that Oregon has fielded an All-American miler. In three of the past five years, Oregon has had two or more All-American milers.


- Oliver Hoare's 8th place finish at Nationals breaks Wisconsin's 8-year drought of having an All-American in the 3000 meters.

- Trouard's time of 8:04 is the slowest winning time in the 3000 meters since Cheserek won the title in 2014 with an 8:11.


- Knight's winning time 14:14 is the slowest time in (at least) the past 10 years. The nine championship meets before this season had results that were all under 14 minutes.

- In fact, before this season, only three people (Tiernan, Reed, Lovell) had run over 14 minutes in this event and become an All-American (from 2009 to 2017). Tiernan.

- 2018 now joins 2013 as the two championship years where the PAC-12 has not had an All-American in this event (in the past 10 years). That's right, no one from Oregon, Stanford, Colorado, etc. finished in the top eight of this event.


- Virginia Tech is the first ACC team to win the DMR in (at least) the past 10 years. Although Notre Dame won the title in 2012, they were in the BIG East when they did that.

- Virginia Tech joins Oregon's 2009 DMR squad as the only two programs to win the DMR and have all three distance legs run an open event in the past 10 years.

- However, Virginia Tech is the only DMR in (at least) the past 10 years to win the DMR and have all three distance legs finish as All-Americans in the open events.

- Prior to 2018 and 2017, the highest finish an ACC team had finished in the DMR in the past 10 years was 6th place. Virginia Tech was 2nd in 2017. This year, the Hokies came back to win it all while Notre Dame finished 2nd.

- Brown now joins Princeton (2013) and Columbia (2012) as the only Ivy League teams to qualify for Nationals in the DMR.